Tadpole Daycare

Last year I raised baby tadpoles and set them free as frogs. And this year I’m going to do it again. A few days ago, I went down to my grandparents pond with my dad and we caught one very interested toad, but we let it go because the tadpoles are what we want to raise and we will just let frogs and toads be loose. That’s the main thing in project.

It’s fun to catch the tadpoles in the pond. Me and my dad also caught a leopard frog. It’s a not a frog-sized leopard! It’s basically a leopard-quick frog that’s yellow with black dots, but not poisonous.

Two big achievements that me and my dad made were:

1. Catching a bullfrog tadpole with legs. The back row of legs, that is.

2. Another thing we did was we found the tadpole nest. But we didn’t take anything from it because it would disturb the nest. That’s where we found a leopard frog, but we didn’t catch it. We found the leopard we caught on our way back to the truck. The reason we didn’t keep the frogs and toads we caught was because they would probably eat the small tadpoles.

I had a great time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tadpole Daycare

  1. Jeanenne says:

    This was a really fun post, Yefet.
    I can just picture you and your dad doing this. You are so fortunate to have dad to share such fun adventures.
    I have never seen a tadpole nest.
    Did your dad take a picture of the leopard frog?
    I learned a really cool thing about frogs last year. Here is what I learned:

    Frogs can’t dig underground like toads do and they need to hibernate in damp leaf litter to keep from drying out. Their soft, water-permeable skin is no barrier to ice and so, whenever frost penetrates into their winter home, they freeze. Ice penetrates through all of the fluid compartments of the animal and within just a few hours a mass of ice fills the abdominal cavity encasing all the internal organs. Large flat ice crystals run between the layers of skin and muscle, and the eyes turn white because the lens freezes. Their blood stops flowing and as much as 65% of the frog’s total body water is converted to ice. Breathing, heart beat, and muscle movements all stop and the frozen “frog-sicle” exists in a virtual state of suspended animation until it thaws.

    Also, I have a really cool picture of a gray tree frog that we had in our yard a couple of years ago. I will send the picture to your dad so you can see it.

Leave a comment